Teach Me Balance

Balance

I talk a lot about the effort it takes to achieve the things you want in this life. And for the most part we focus on how to get to those things. But every now and then, I am reminded of the other things that you need in your life in order to continue achieving everything you want.

I’ve been working like crazy on a couple of writing projects because I have so much passion for them and I want to see them come to life on the movie screen someday. But I had gotten so involved in them, that I had taken some time off from exercising and hung out less with the people around me. I do believe there are seasons in your life where you will have to work a lot more then you will hang out.

But I was still reminded of the balance that I have to keep in my life in order to be successful. So I spent more time with friends the last couple of day, I got back to exercising which always makes me feel a hundred percent better and I even added in some reading to further my skill in writing and some relaxing to keep me sane.

Its amazing how important balance is in our lives. It also reminds us of how important patience is, as well as the journey and not just the destination. You may want to spend all of your day doing whatever it takes to fulfill a dream. But for most of us, that’s just not how it works. For some of us we have families. Most, if not all, have a job and , maybe even a full fledged career to attend to as well. And most of us have friends that keep us going and help us to have fun.

All this to say that balance matters. I may want something now, but it can’t be the only thing I am doing. I have to work towards that goal while also working towards my exercising goal, my community goal, my family goal, my work goal, and any other goal that I might have at the time. Funny thing is, although it may take longer to achieve a goal when it is not the only thing you are doing, it ends up being so much better because of how balanced you are in the process.

4 thoughts on “Teach Me Balance

  1. Balance is essential in every sphere of life! If one is not careful in balancing work with rest and recreation then pretty soon one is on the path to become “the richest body in the graveyard” (in the words of a well known preacher). You have such insight in your words. I enjoy your writings.

  2. Pingback: Day 05: Something in life that gives you balance « It is a Strange Life… and I'm loving it!

  3. Pingback: The Newlywed Book Challenge | Balancing Act

Leave a comment