Teach Me I’m Enough

20130617-153939.jpg

Famous Author Alexander Dumas who wrote such books as “The Count of Monte Cristo” and “The Three Musketeers”, once shared some very wise words on the idea of believing yourself:

“A person who doubts himself is like a man who would enlist in the ranks of his enemies and bear arms against himself. He makes his failure certain by himself being the first person to be convinced of it.”

The first part of it is interesting because the lack of belief in yourself can directly lead to the victory of the enemies in your life we have. But I especially like the second half because it speaks to something so potent. A man who has already convinced himself he is a failure on his own, is lost regardless of those who think he is because he has sealed his own fate.

We often worry about what others think and how that perception of us makes us feel and even work. But often times, it’s not those around us we should worry about. Instead we should be looking inside ourselves to find the culprit. We are our own worst enemies. And most of our failures come at the expenses of ourselves, not others.

I am an unrelenting critic when it comes to myself. A heavy burden that weighs on my own success. I am the wall that stands between a life dreamed and a life lived. I am the deterrent that keeps me head down, small risk, and low reward. And I am mud in my eyes that blinds me from the millions of chances that life hands out to trade up and be better.

I am on a journey to believe in myself. To believe in my capabilities and build confidence to back them up. To trust in the decisions I make and the paths they take me down each day. To be hopeful that hard work produces results and persistence breeds rewards.

People around you can help you achieve this, but at the end of the day, only you can be the one to say what is so important for you to know….

That your enough.

5 thoughts on “Teach Me I’m Enough

  1. Z, I love reading what you write and how you share yourself with other people. I thought of this scripture. How we all have mud on our eyes at times and when we really believe the mud can be washed away and you start to see things in a new and better way.

    After saying this, he spit on the ground, made some mud with the saliva, and put it on the man’s eyes. “Go,” he told him, “wash in the Pool of Siloam” (this word means “Sent”). So the man went and washed, and came home seeing. (John 9:6, 7 NIV)

Leave a Reply

