Teach Me Not to Worry

Don't WorryHoly crap, can I be a crazy worrier. When I was a kid I would get so worried about anything and everything. I was worried a burglar would break in. I was worried I would grow up to fast and miss all the spoils of childhood. I was worried I wasn’t growing up fast enough. I was worried the robber would enter my sister’s room first and I wouldn’t have enough time to save her.

Point is: I worried A LOT. In fact I was a genuine worrier until about the age of nineteen. At that age, worry had taken over me so much, that I was barely able to get myself out of bed eat morning. Hell.

But in the face of all that worry in some small moment of courage, I decided I had to go face the world and overcome it all. Well at least california. So my friend drove me up to the tip of California and I began traveling back down. Throughout the whole trip, I was fearing for my life at different time.

FIrst was the night I started camping. I laid there wondering what in the world I was doing and how I would make it. Some more fear came when I camped at an abandoned campsite. That night a BEAR came around and scratched on this wooden bathroom where I stashed my food about twenty five feet away from my tent. I was sure I was gone. Another when I was stuck between a fight with two guys in which one was threading to kill the other.

Whatever it was, I constantly felt overwhelmed at certain times. But something else happened on that trip. At a certain point, I had to quiet my fear and just keep going. I had to let go of everything that I felt was haunting me and just walk. That was it. Some days I would walk ten to twelve miles. It’s funny how exhaustion doesn’t give much room for worry.

Slowly but surely as I made my way down california, worry became less and less of a problem and for the first time in a long time I felt free from its clutches. It was a  joyful feeling. When I finally got home, things that use to cause me a ton of worry seemed like nothing. Suddenly worry wasn’t that big of problem anymore. It hasn’t really been since.

Sure I’ve had my phases where it returns, but ultimately I come back to that same idea I had on the trip.

JUST KEEP GOING. KEEP PUSHING ON. THERE WON’T BE TIME TO WORRY.

Leave a comment